By An Anonymous Bitch

As I sit here trying not to fall asleep, a woman makes her way into the train. On any typical day, I would not have noticed her, but then the loud speaker announced the next stop and I realized that we were still in the hood. I looked again at this woman (who is now rolling her eyes in frustration because she is standing and her heels are killing her) and realized that there was something relatively wrong with this picture of her. I started to think about it.

She was not naturally beautiful, but something about her was alluring. She was really well put together. So, in other words, she was fly. I mean every woman loves to look beautiful. However, I felt irritated by her. And I know what you’re thinking but NO, I was not envious of her, and I’m not “hating.” Actually I was impressed by her fashion forwardness. But something was annoying the crap out of me.

I decided to break this girl down. I began to calculate the amount of money she was carrying in her clothes (assuming that what she was wearing was real and not from Chinatown). I started with her hair. The hair was straight, but it was not a natural straight (naturally beautiful girls aren’t into the artificial look, naturally). As a girl that has been to a bunch of hair salons in the hood, I know the difference between natural straight hair and relaxed hair. And right off the bat, I knew that there was relaxer involved in this case. She had a dye (roots were fresh), a wash, and a dry. Her hair was long, so I’d say she spent about $60 on the hair. And make-up is expensive whether it is from the drugstore or MAC, so I think she was wearing about $50 worth of makeup on her face. Then, I got to the sunglasses. They were Dolce and Gabbana, so $500. Jeans, True Religion, so at least $200. And her jacket was about $150. Many would say “that’s not bad,” but we have not gotten to the shoes. That was the freaking shocker of them of all.  Everything else was done without effort, and I had to sit straight for this one. They were 4.5 or 5 inches stilettos (not that Jessica Simpson shit, baby…) but from Christian Louboutin. I know because of the red soles. I WOULD NEVER IN MY LIFE take the train with THOSE shoes on. Christian Louboutin’s, for those who are fashion illiterate, are only the most popular shoes worn by celebrities and other wealthy bitches. These shoes run from $800 to $3,000. Sometimes– if you’re lucky–you can get them for $500. I mean lucky her if those are even real. But damn, where are people’s priorities? With the amount of money that this chick spent on herself in this one outfit, someone could have paid rent. Think about it: THE FUCKING RENT. The rent!

Look, I can be a snob when it comes to fashion. I’m not afraid to admit it. I love the aesthetic. I know my brands and I am pretty up to date with the trends. But although I love fashion, I wear the same thing every day: jeans, t-shirt, a nice big comfy sweater, and a pair old converses. It’s not a matter of whether or not I cannot afford the clothes,  it’s a matter of priorities. And I have my priorities straight. I want out!!!  Out of where? The hood. For those who live down here, it is the most oppressive, most DISGUSTING, and down rotten place in the world. It is the Third World of the First World. Yeah, you can blame “The Man” for it, but I feel like we should blame ourselves.  And you know what, in the end, I do blame us.  I was raised to believe that being poor is no excuse to live like savages. My mother, even in the old country (the real Third World), always maintained her home and her community with the outmost care and humility. It’s a shame that we cannot do the same.  Many of us prefer to look good than to live in a safe neighborhood. If you are so willing to drop money on shit to wear then why do you live in the hood? I mean, don’t you have bills to pay? I assume with that nice cellphone you are using that you do. It doesn’t bother you at all? This is where I get irritated. It could be a misplaced irritation, but I cannot help it to feel this way. I understand that everyone wants to treat themselves to something nice once in a while. But why are you wearing $200 Hunter rain boots, boots used only in the rain that you could get for $20? If you have the money to splurge like that then why am I seeing you stepping out of the projects? And not a nice house? I don’t get it.

I guess it costs a lot to look cheap.

 

 

One thought on “It Costs A Lot To Look Cheap

Leave a Reply

