#29. Rumor Has It

Here’s the situation:

You work in an office. Generally, you are popular with your coworkers. However, you discover that there are currently two rumors circulating the office gossip mill, and both involve you. The first rumor is that you got drunk at the office holiday party and had sex with one of your married coworkers. This rumor is completely true, but most people don’t believe it. The second rumor is that you have been stealing hundreds of dollars of office supplies and them selling them to cover a gambling debt. This rumor is completely false, but virtually everyone assumes it is factual.

Which of these two rumors is more troubling to you?

* * *

We’ve all had rumors spread about us. Whether you knew what they actually were or not, chances are, if you attended middle school at some point in your life, you’ve had a rumor (or some kind of trash talk) said about you. Your chances are surely doubled if you also went to the hellhole better known as High School.

Fortunately for me, I know more or less what the rumors were about me during those times. Not bad. I’m actually kinda proud of the shit people would say about me, but still, I’m not a fan of what people have to say, period. Much less behind your back.

These have got to be the worst (hypothetical) rumors ever said about me. Damn. After reading the choices I instantly decided I preferred the second rumor. And even though I’ve taken a moment to consider the first, I’m sticking to my gut reaction. The first rumor sucks, no question, and even though the second seems twofold in nature: not only do I have a serious addiction, but now I’ve resorted to even more questionable behaviours–stealing–as a poor means of coping with my initial problem, it still only involves me. That makes all the difference in this one. This would be more troubling to me, especially if my coworkers would be more inclined to believe something like that about me, but I can deal with people thinking the worst about me. Just me. If it has to do with something I did to someone else, a serious offense like fucking a married man, that would be more troubling to me. Think what you want. Say what you want. Look at me like I’m a totally fucked up person, but you can’t say that I do fucked up things with or to others. I’ll be a thief with a gambling addiction before I play with fire and burn others.

The latter rumor gives me a chance to make a comeback. There aint no coming back from being a homewrecker. Just ask what’s-her-face.

What about you? Which do you consider the lesser of two evils?

5 thoughts on “Office Politics

  1. You make an excellent point about the “home wrecker” title sticking like glue, but despite this, I would rather be considered a home wrecker than a thief.

    Here’s my reasoning: at this point in time work has been slow, so I’m hunting for a second job. With a reputation for stealing (whether petty theft or grand larceny) I’d also supposedly have a criminal record or at the very least a questionable morality. Also it’s been hard to notice that it’s a damn small world, and there’s no job to be had with thievery as an annotation to my name.

    I realize I would be affecting more people, but it wouldn’t hinder my chances of getting a job, and in our society, home wrecking (sorry to say) is much more socially acceptable than being a thief, even with the notoriety.

    1. My alleged “excellent point” (thank you) has been countered w/ a truly fantastic response. Oh, how exciting! I definitely see what you’re saying, Gen, and I somehow managed to think of some of those points as I rationalized between choices myself. Man. It’s a tough one. I just recently found out that it’s against the law for your boss to badmouth you to potential employers so that’s something to consider. You might be a thief, but no one has to know about it. No one has to know that you pulled an Angelina Jolie w/ your coworker, either, so you may be able to get away w/ that, too.
      I’m just going w/ the one that would carry a greater weight on my conscience.
      And OMG, can’t wait for your next response! Glad these hypertheticals are working out.
      ;-)
      -V

  2. MY FRIEND DRESSY SAYS:

    Rumor Blog- Thief or Homewrecker? I am a little confused. Is one of them true? Because I would not settle for either. My mother raised me better than that, and if people are making up such rumors it’s because they know I was raised better than that and want to see me fail. In all honestly, I would handle it the way I did in hell (high school/middle school). I would confront the bitch / bitches and tell them what is really good. After that I will gladly invite them to meet outside the workplace for some one-on-one rumbling. I would put them and anyone involved on blast. I would rather be hated for confronting and embarrassing others than have lies spread about me. And this is why: it reflects badly not just on me…but on my family. My mother did not spend her life raising me so she could hear some nonsense on the street. SHE WILL BEAT ME! LOL So due to the fear and respect for the clan I represent, I would try my best to knock them out..because my momma told me to knock em out. …

    Thats my response to your question. LOL

    Now if one them is true– the answer would be easy. But I know it isn’t…because my momma raised me better than that…LOL

  3. I like Dressy’s response. I would probably react the same way. I was just thinking about this question in terms of an ultimatum of sorts and I’m pretty surprised at my own answer.

    I believe I’m biased to this question because I have been called a thief (in elementary school) when I wasn’t, and it was very unpleasant. But as a teenager I did steal, so I think that a part of me was more opposed to it because it WAS true. Whereas, I don’t care as much being rumored to be a home wrecker because I would never be one. Ever.

    1. I’m pretty surprised at my answer as well. I’m glad. I think that’s the point and it just puts you in a position where either choice forces you to accept / learn/ surprise yourself. I see where you’re coming from, and I thank you for sharing. ;-) Your reasoning is so unique and honest. Much appreciated, dude!

Leave a Reply

